Imaging Q...Sitting Location vs. Sound

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thai

Reaction score
Hey all,

This may be a stupid Q...forgive my ignorance in this topic. In my theater setup, my Vantages are slightly toe-in. If i sit in the middle (same axis as center channel), then the sound is great...coming from both Vantages (and CC). However, if i sit at the end of my couch to one side, i don't hear much from the opposite side Vantage speaker...for example, if i sit on the left side, then i mostly hear just the left Vantage and CC.

Is this normal?? I am new at this whole theater thing, but i thought that the whole point to 5.1/6.1/7.1 surround sound is that no matter where you sit within the listening area, you should hear equal sound from front...that is, "there is no bad seat in the house."

If this is not normal, then i guess that i need to toe-in more the Vantages, right??

Thanks in advance.

One more Q...does imaging improve with breaking-in the speaker or is it just the lower end of the frequency that gets better??

Thai, that's a bit of a loaded question, but I'll give you my $.02 worth.

First let's make sure we agree on the definition of imaging. I don't run my system as a home theater set up, so I may be biased. I don't think you're going to have a great "image" in most theater applications by the very nature of the media being presented. You may occasionally get some stable images with a sense of dialog coming from the center channel, and possibly acoustic cues from your other speakers indicating a real sense of the acoustic space where in any given movie scene may take place. But the whole point of a 5.1, 7.1 9.1 type setup is to involve you in an ever changing acoustic reality that corresponds to the visual one occuring on the screen.