New to ML

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

abomwell

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm a newbie to the forum and awaiting arrival of ESL-11a's. I've been an audiophile for many moons and owned dozens of speakers of every type including Maggie's, Acoustats, Sanders, and Janszens, all of which are electrostatic, as well as many others. I've never owned ML speakers until now. I have a question regarding the curvilinear ESL. If the front of the panel, being curved, spreads the sound waves to allow for a wider sweet spot, is it reasonable to assume the rear wave is the opposite, that is it's more focused and beamy than how a flat panel would launch the rear wave? If that were the case it would seem to be a huge advantage. Assuming the speakers are toed inwards somewhat the rear wave would reflect off the front wall and away from the primary listening position and thus take a long time before reaching the listening chair. Does that make sense?

Thanks!
Al

G'day Al,
Greetings from Aus down unda and welcome aboard! After owning those previous ststs, it's about high time you had ML's! They're incredible stats. Did you ever own Quad ESL's before? You'll find ML's to be superior.

Regarding your question on the rear wave, that's an excellent question! You're right, with regards to the wave patters at the rear. In fact, adding to this much narrowed rear wave pattern, there's a 10 millisecond delay for the rear wave. This is crucial in getting the placement right. Therefore, bring the 11A's further away from the front wall, as to perfectly allow for this 10ms delay. That distance is critical! If it's too close to the wall, there will be LF boom or overhang, and you don't want that.