How do I know my Cinema i is working properly?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Balthazar2k4

Reaction score
I just recently picked up a ML Cinema i second-hand and I am in a bit of a quandary as to whether it is working as intended. Let me preface by stating that I am fairly new to ML and have had little experience with electrostats prior. I originally hooked the center to my Pioneer Elite SC-07 and immediately noticed that it was overpowered (the sound seems like it is in a box and very low volume) by my mains (ML Sources on an Emotiva XPA-2). I recalibrated through the receiver auto setup and discovered that my receiver needed to set the channel to +10. I immediately thought "well, looks like I need an amp". So I bought an Emotiva UPA-1 which I got yesterday. I hooked it up and re-ran the auto setup and got nearly the same results (now it was +7.5). Clearly I am missing something as I went from 140w -> 350w with little effect. I then read through the Cinema i manual to see if I had missed something during setup, but alas I had done everything 'right'. What I did notice is that in the troubleshooting is that I should check the DC power to insure it is connected as it can cause this sort of problem. I unplugged the DC power to see if anything changed and interestingly it sounds the same. So do I have a bad DC power supply or can the speaker run for a period without it? I did not have a lot of time last night to test, so I didn't really arrive to any conclusive results. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks