Advice Welcome

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Twinax

Reaction score
:bowdown:

Hello everyone. I am new to Martin Logan and new to better listening as a whole, so I am open to any advice that may be offered.

I recently fell in love with the sound of ML Vantage speakers at my local Best Buy. I listened to some Definitive STS's as well but the ML's blew them away. I have a feeling I was being set up by the sales guy, but they don't work on commission there so I think he was just building me up to what he knew I would really go for.

Anyway I have made my mind up that I will be buying the ML Vantage, but I have various questions as to what to go with it. I have some ideas but.....

Also while I appreciate help I think I had better put some budgets out there. $2500 for receiver, another $3000 for center and surround speakers max, $1000 for ancilliary items that I am not aware of. That should keep things around 12K inc the Vantages which I don't really want to go above.

1) Center speaker ? which should I choose to go with these awesome L/R speakers (the guy in the shop wasn't that clear on his recommendation.)

2) Surround sound ? What rear/side ones should I consider

3) I am considering the Onkyo NR5007 receiver, is that going to have enough power for these and is it a good receiver ?

4) I have read posts about amplifiers to go with the receiver, is it necessary ?, what do they add, and any suggestions on what might fit with what I am putting together here.

5) I have got a Panamax M5300-PM line conditioner already, will that be good enough ?

6)SubWoofer, My wife hates em taking up space, is one really necessary ?

7) Speaker wire? what AWG rating should I go for and any suggestions here would be great, I have a friend that suggests going to monprice.com over getting expenisive store ones but I don't know