ultra cheap tweak.

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kenscollick

Reaction score
I was talking with Ted Denny about the Tesla Speaker cables and he aksed if I had them elevated? he said only wood or plastic should be used and recommended using Cd cases. tried it and there is an improvement.

Attachments

• IMG_0159.JPG
    IMG_0159.JPG
    37.5 KB · Views: 177
Interesting, a real "Sam Tellig" special. I don't understand the "wood and plastic only" thing....wouldn't glass / ceramic cable elevators be good as well ??

I am new to this cables elevating, but can someone explain what exactly am I gaining by doing this funny looking 'tweak' ?

Hi Sasha,

Theory generally goes like this and applies to cables that rest on artificial fiber carpet, per Pierre Sprey of Mapleshade Audio. Carpet can act like a dialetric and stores static electricity, which can be "absorbed" by your cables, negatively impacting the ability of the cable to pass a "clean" signal. For a visual comparison, think about looking through a window that hasn't been cleaned for awhile and then cleaning the window.

I've never had to do raise my interconnects / speaker cables since I've had / have wood floors. To avoid seeing the speaker cables, I've drilled a small hole through my floor and ran the speaker cable, through the crawl space, from the amp to the speaker.

For those who have wood floors, I certainly understand one's reluctance to do what I have done but I've done it for aesthetic reasons.

Bottom line:

Pretty cheap tweak that may improve your system sound. Give it a try and see what you think.

GG

Gordon, you know that's the explanation I got too, so if static elecricity is the issue then I wonder why is palstic/wood a better insulator than glass ??