New member introduction, looking for the right amp.

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Peter.L

Reaction score
Hello everyone, really happy to be here. Just got used EM ESL's (and I am thrilled) about 5 days ago. Ever since, I've been looking for a amplifier. I live in Germany so luckily the used market has a lot to offer. Only problem is, I'm a super noob. I've read that these speakers need an Amp that offers a high current output. The Amp I've been considering is a Hegel H 160 since I believe the H95 (Next best thing studio, Jay) said paired well with Magnepan's which to my understanding also thrive on high current. I know a little about electronics, not a lot though, however I get why this is the case. Where at the end of the speaker cables is a huge resistor. So I thought the Hegel would pair well according to reviewers who went deeper into the specs of the H160 and other Hegel models. The set up will be in a room that's about 50 sq meters(164sq ft). Taking into account that the H160 is rated at Power output : 150 w/pc into 8 Ohms, 250 w/pc into 4 Ohms. Could I go for something with less watts in the Hegel range? Don't get me wrong, I'm not exclusively looking to buy Hegel, just that I've found some good offerings. My first pick at the moment would be a Bryston 4b, or 3b. Which I am confident will pair well. That, I experienced first hand from the fine gentleman I bought the speakers off at the rehearsal. However, Hegel or any other descent high current Integrated Amp is the preferred way to go at the moment due to less components and money. Priority is to get the best out of the ESL's on my budget of about 2000€. For you here with experience, I need your help. Thanks in advance looking forward to figuring it out. Have a great Sunday.

Hi