New Matinee Center in the House. Wow and Woot!

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Webinattor

Reaction score
Wow, wow wow. I only had 3 hrs of time with it last night, but wow. Huge difference in my setup. Massive wall of sound now. Made my whole system just open up with a such a huge soundstage. I was not expecting such a marked difference.

While my logans have a kind of laid back sound, the center I had been using for the last 12 years must have been much more forward, just messing with the sound stage for movies. This new setup is markedly open, spacious and just wow. Really nice to hear the same tonal quality all across the front. It was interesting to hear great depth and clarity in the "x" area between the center speaker and each left and right ML. Plus, the visual appeal is wonderful. First time I had seen the thing in person was when I took it out of the box. I read it takes some time to break in...but I am really happy/giddy with the setup. Looking forward to tweeking it and calibrating it over the holiday!

Super woot! Did I say wow?

Photo.
center800.jpg

Is this for movies only?

Are you listening to music in some sort of surround sound audio?

If you have a larger full room photo of your whole set up it may be more telling.

Glad you are happy with your purchase.

I was listening to an ending song in a movie (Robert Redford's "The Castle"), sounded great on my little M&K's but the center speaker is a dual driver Yamaha and the voice after a while started to sound boxy. A M/L center (or a quality M&K) would be nice at times.

It is pretty much for movies. Do watch plenty of movies on a projector. This is the media room, without the ML center channel. It shows the one I replaced it with. I do listen to music sometimes with the preamp set to 5 channel stereo.

erc1b.jpg