Looking to buy

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oaklands

Reaction score
I have an opportunity to buy some Sequel II's for $900.00. The original owner says everything is original on the speakers. I have not seen close up pics yet, but from what I have seen so far they look to be in very nice condition. He has the original boxes as well.

I've got some questions and your help is appreciated.

1. Is this a good price for the speakers. According to Orion it is.

2. How often do the panels have to be replaced. If these are original should I beware if they have never been replaced.

3. What kind of maintenance should one do with these type speakers to make the panels last?

As you can tell, I am a newb to electrostats. Thank you in advance for your answers.

Oaklands

Just so you know my stat panels are 12 years old and still going strong. Like anything it all has to do with maintains. Smoke free is the key. Has the speakers seen duty all its life or were they stored? If used did the owner vacuum them once a month? Regardless, count on changing the panels maybe not today but at some point. I know ML has just raised the price for new panels by a huge%. Call ML and find out what new panels will cost. I think $900.00 is a very fair price for Sequel IIs.

To make the panels last keep them away from direct sunlight, too much heat, dust, smoke, and vacuum the panels once a month.

Last edited:
I have a pair of original Sequels, with the original panels, and they sound fine. (probably not as great that they would with new panels, but they're still doing fine...)