Is this a 'good/decent/could be better' room equalization?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RDC

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new at this whole room equalization and treatment concept. I think I got a pretty good room response now, I could be wrong, so I would love to hear what you think.
Measurements taken with REW and a calibrated mic. REW file available here (zip).

Room dimensions are 21 x 11.5 x 9 feet (6.5 x 3.5 x 2.7 meters). I've got diffusion panels behind the speakers en behind the listening point. I also have 4" thick absorbers behind the listening point. Rug on a wooden floor. No side wall, ceiling treatments or bass traps possible. ML Montis and SVS SB-2000 Subwoofer with a crossover and PEQ (IIR-type) set via a MiniDSP DAC. I still need to try some other crossovers, as I only tried it at it's current setting of an (probably unwise) arbitrary 100Hz.

SPL 10-200 Hz
RDC_REW_SPL_10-200_20180817.jpg

SPL 20-20000Hz
RDC_REW_SPL_20-20000_20180817.jpg

Waterfall 10-200Hz
RDC_REW_WFL_10-200_20180817.jpg

Waterfall 20-20000Hz
RDC_REW_WFL_20-20000_20180817.jpg

I'm not sure why the images are getting smaller every time...must be a forum thing, because they are all the same size. But they might also be attached, not sure how this works on here.

Anyway, thanks for your time!

RDC

I'm not sure what I can do with that comment alone.
Why don't they think much of room EQ?
And who are these experts?

But maybe I forgot a crucial part, the base measurement, so you can see what is altered.
RDC_REW_SPL_20-20000_BASE_FINAL_COMP_20180817.jpg

FYI: the low frequencies volume are mostly tamed by volume adjustment to the subwoofer and the XO in the final result.

Last edited:
RDC, hopefully Jonathan will chime in here for he has a very good take on all of this.