Break-in in 90db?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MUTZ57

Reaction score
So, having spent a bit of time listening to my ESL Impressions 11A, I finally get around to reading the manual and discover that the "break-in" period for the speakers is stated at 72hrs @90db ("moderate listening levels"), moderate........really, is this right or even practical / achievable, I generally listen at 70-75db so getting to 90db seems wrong somehow but this seems to be needed to achieve the full throw of the base drivers and work out the panels?

Even though I live in a detached property 90db is clearly audible outside and I need ear defenders to get close inside, am I missing something?

I work in the construction industry and anything 80-85db hearing protection is advised and anything over 85db hearing protection is mandatory, be interested in others experience and whether break-in can be achieved any other way?

I have had them playing for two weeks non-stop albeit at relatively low levels (55-70db) so would this be sufficient

Any advice appreciated!

I tried to run mine 24 hours a day but ended up short of that. But I was able to log 100 hours within a week. I played music from Pandora that was very soothing at night, and played jazz in the daytime.

And yes, I used 90dB as the volume setting for the early stages, then a little higher as 100 hours was closing in. You can use lower volume, it'll just take longer. No big deal.

I kept a running log initially. The link is: http://www.martinloganowners.com/forum/showthread.php?17989-New-13A-s-Arrived-Early!

Hola,