Newbi needs help

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cobra15

Reaction score
First let me start off by saying you all have a great and very informative site. I am very new to this and still learning tons of information. A while back I purchased two Mosaic's which I am currently using as my front speakers. I also purchased a pioneer elite VSX-81txv receiver but after reading in the forums I wish I would have gone a different route. I guess this will have to do for now. As bad as it may sound I am using my TV speaker as the center. Its not doing me much good but times were tough and wasn't able to purchase anything else. At the moment I am looking to purchase the rears. I have found a few good deals on used speakers which I may jump on but wanted to get your advice before I did.

Do you recommend that I purchase the Vignettes for the rear or purchase another two Mosaic's for the rear. Which combination will work best with my fronts.

Thanks in advance

In a perfect world (where money is not a factor) all speakers would be the same, 7 Mosaics. But finances always come into play, especially this year. Usually the surrounds and rear surrounds are smaller and cheaper than the fronts. Since the Mosaics and the Vignettes are both thin film technology speakers the match should be very good and if the cost savings is there that is what I would do. I would also use the savings and start a fund for a good center channel. and later a Grotto sub as funding permits.

Burke: