ML Newbie with CLS speakers

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Meby

Reaction score
Hi guys I am new to ML speakers and have been an admirer for a while. I was able to purchase a pair of original CLS speakers locally from the original owner. He was running them with ARC classic 60 amps and said that the combination were not able to play orchestral music as there was not enough power.
I was a Maggie owner in the past and was never able to get them enough tube power (that I could afford!) even Rogue 120 watt monos was not enough for orchestral music.
I really love tubes and would prefer to use them in all stages of my system, but I want to be able to listen to the 1812 overture.:rocker: Will I need a SS amp to be able to listen to orchestral music on the CLS speakers?
Thanks in advance,
Mike

Welcome Mebe. Congrats on your purchase of CLS's. You will need to be patient and find the right combination of related equipment to go with them they are very revealing of the equipment upstream.
I am sure you have read many of the threads here about how CLS owners have set up their gear to bring out the best in their speakers.
I have not heard CLS's with Classic 60's so I can't speak directly for those amps. I have CLS IIz's and in the past used them with Classic 120's. I never felt I needed more volume than they could provide.
That said I don't know if you are looking for your hair to part when the cannons go off in the 1812 overture or what.

I later replaced my 120's with VTM 200's and though they had a very different sound I would say there was not a huge difference in the available volume.
I don't tend to listen loud so someone here that does listen at higher levels may have more information on that specifically.