Complete NOOB question - driving the Source series..

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deilenberger

Reaction score
I'm picking up some very low hour Sources tomorrow. Right now I have a choice of amps to drive them with..

Solid state: Marantz 140 - vintage classic amp that outperforms all it's spec's and supposedly does OK with 2 Ohm loads.. Rated at 70WPC at > .1% THD, it usually tests out at over 90WPC at .1% THD, and 20-20k +/- 0db (and no noise at all..)

Tube: Marantz 8B - slightly modded many years ago (added more capacitor to the B+ supply and some parallel capacitors to clean up the high frequencies.) Another classic, it does have 4 Ohm taps on the power transformers, and it was the amp of choice for KLH-9 speakers back in the day..

Anyone have experience driving Sources with either of these oldies? (Ahead of them will be a Marantz 3200 preamp, then Dual 501 DD turntable/Shure V15-Type 5 and undecided if I want to update my $10 flea-market Sony CD changer..)

These will be used in a small room - about 10'x14', 7'8" ceilings.

Last edited:
First ML speakers were the source and after 2 years I love them. The 8b should sound great with them as source are very easy to drive so tubes go great with them. I have driven the source with a multi amp and high end HT anthem pre but was never happy. I got a cheapo tube integrated from ebay and it sounded fantastic

When I had Sources they were wired to Marantz RM5003 which has only 45 watts and sounded very good.