Rent or Buy?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joey_V

Reaction score
Hey fellas...

Now that I'm a resident, I'm looking to get out of my university apartment and wondering what I should do. I will be living in Chicago right around the Loop area. I won't bother you with exact addresses or even the general vicinity because most won't know what I'm babbling about.

Anyway, with the current market - is it wise to buy now and stay there for 4 years before flipping it (with the possibility of having to flip it even before then IF I get married) or is it better to rent?

What you fellas think?

Joey

Hey Joey,

If you know somebody high up (inside) the banking industry that can advise you on getting a really good low interest loan I'd say look to buy. Housing prices are dropping to a more realistic price range and foreclosures unfortunately are everywhere. If you buy, you should consider holding on to it for several years and remember... Location, Location, Location.

Satch

Joey,
Your almost always better off owning than renting.

Now is an especially good time to buy. Housing values and prices have dropped the last few years which almost never happens. And interest rates are low. And as Satch mentioned there are some really good deals in the foreclosure market.

Chicago area home values on average have only dropped around 6%, many parts of the country have been far worse, Detroit becuse of the job loss situation and California where the homes were just over valued and over priced.

I've never owned a piece of property, no matter how short I've ownd it that hasn't appreciated. and I've never not found someone willing to pay what I was asking for a piece of property.

Historically homes appreciate at 5 to 7 percent annually