Trying to Decide on Integrated for Vantages

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dag

Reaction score
Newbie here who finally stopped lurking. Hello all!

Current system: Vantages, Transparent MusicWave Ultra, Marantz receiver, Transparent interconnects, Rotel RCD-1072, other stuff not relevant to this post.

Question: Looking to add an integrated amp with HT pass through so that I can cut out the Marantz when listening to 2 channel, but keep it (for now) for movie watching. Would also like to continue to give the love to my local high end audio shop.

Current Options:

Classe CAP-2100 - Have auditioned and like VERY much, getting a good deal on a floor model.

Musical Fidelity A3.5 or A5 - Have auditioned A3.5, not nearly as nice as CAP-2100 but lots cheaper. Would probably order A5 but haven't auditioned and it costs only a few hundred bucks less than the floor model CAP-2100.

VTL IT-85 - Can't audition but have heard an ST-150 with my previous Claritys and it was awesome. A couple hundred bucks more than CAP-2100. Worried about future tube replacement at a time when we have even less money than we have now.

Jolida JD 1000RC - Can't audition and can't purchase from my favorite (only) shop. Great price, same tube worries.

Any and all questions, comments, suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks SO much.

DAG

dag, First off, welcome ! Sounds like your Ears like the Classe', nothing wrong with that. But in so far as Tubes, keep in mind that 'most' integrateds use KT-88's or EL-34's for the output, which are not terribly exspensive and they are usually good for up to 3000 hrs.

Steve (slowgezer) is using a Jolida amp to power his M/L's and is quite happy with it. I use the little 302-B on second system in my home and I am happy with it as well. I'm not sure if any of their Integrateds have a HT / Unity gain feature though.