New Member - Need Advice on AVR for Vantages

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Michael

Reaction score
Hi All,

I have been absorbing a lot of great info on this site for the last few weeks and appreciate all of your terrific knowledge sharing and the supportive culture that exists here. :bowdown:

I am new to high-end audio - starting from scratch - and have decided to build out my system with Martin Logans in a two-phased approach due to budget constraints. Phase 1 – I am in process of acquiring some slightly used vantages and I just purchased a used Matinee for a very good price. I next need to purchase an AVR that can power both – Vantages/Matinee. During Phase 1, I will mostly be listening to music with limited HT. For Phase 2 – I will round out the system with a proper amp (maybe a sunfire – I am also looking at butler audio’s TDB 5150 - thoughts on this one?) a Descent i and surrounds TBD for full HT.

Two questions: First – I originally was going to get a couple of purities, but then I decided to move up several notches (to avoid regret and a future itch to upgrade as per some of your posts) to the vantages. However, I had already pulled the trigger on the used Matinee. I am now somewhat concerned about the ideal sonic compatibility between the Vantages and the Matinee as well as if the Matinee will produce enough power for me when I roll out the HT in Phase 2. Having a little buyers remorse here when I consider the motif/stage alternatives and some of your thoughts on the importance of centers…