Squeezebox 3 stream is not as good as actual CD...

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joey_V

Reaction score
I discovered first hand tonight, lossless through the Squeezebox 3 is only about 80% as good as the original CD played through the Cary 306/200.... EVEN if the Squeezebox 3's digital outs are routed through the internal DACs of the Cary.

There is a loss of image focus relative to the actual CD... there is a discernable loss in ambience and solidity of instruments and a loss of slight dynamics. Mostly, I notice the difference to be focus... less focused with the SB3 going through the Cary DACs and more focused with the actual CD playing in the Cary itself.

Now... to upgrade my music collection!

I bought $100 worth of CDs today... something I've never done before. It's great to focus on the main reason why we're in this hobby and quit dealing with what component to upgrade next.

Another lesson learned....

Joey

For my next experiment, I will see if I can tell the difference between FLAC and WAV burnt onto my PC - both through the Cary DACs.

Then I will compare WAV to the actual CD via Cary DACs.

This should be interesting and should shed some light unto this topic.

Last edited:
CD money

I used to buy 10-20 CDs a month. I mostly bought used or got A DJ discount from a buddy at his shop, so it was not unusual for me to drop 200 dollars on CDs... and I was a starving student... it was just that music seemed more important than food to me... It amazes me how little people spend on their actual music now a days! I also rarely buy CDs anymore... but it is mostly because I live in the sticks now and most of the good CD shops have closed. Now I buy about a CD a week used via the internet.

For my next experiment, I will see if I can tell the difference between FLAC and WAV burnt onto my PC - both through the Cary DACs.