Upgrade or Panels

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fusion2007

Reaction score
Hi guys Im fairly new to the world of audiophiles but i definitely am one, I would really appreciate if you guys could guide me here on what to do.

I currently own the Aeon Speakers, so there about 10yrs old. They sound good and seem fine right now, but i haven't heard other ml speakers in a while so I'm not sure just how much better are the new ones. Which brings me to ask what do you guys think i should do?
My Options
1. Panal replacement: Would they make the original panel or one of the new technology?

2. upgrade (preferably something with a bigger sweet spot)
if i upgrade now, I could spend around 2-4k. probably get a demo model
or if i wait 5moths i could spend 4-8k.

btw i haven't washed them, something about putting electronics in water scares me..lol will vacuuming be enough or water washing be a good idea?

Last edited:
You may want to read the last 8 pages of this thread on replacement panels http://www.martinloganowners.com/fo...712-Lifetime-Service-for-MartinLogan-Products . The price of replacement panels has gone up in price 3 fold which is quite a bit.ML can make panels for you speakers,however , they will probably cost $2000 or more.
Since you are considering upgrading, I think that would be best.Definately read the thread as ML really isn't the same company as before under the new owners.Perhaps it's best to consider other brands of speakers.

Also suggest one of the newer models. Used, they are quite good deals these days.

My favorite is the Spire. Same panel as a Summit, but with a passive woofer. If you bi-amp and use a sub, this can be a killer speaker.

They sound good and seem fine right now, upgrade (preferably something with a bigger sweet spot)
or if i wait 5moths i could spend 4-8k.