recommendations for new source speakers?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmf1218

Reaction score
Hi all-

First time posting here. I apologize if perhaps a better home for this post is the OffTopic thread. Wasn't sure. I'm relatively new to the HT world - I've been browsing avsforum & this site for a while and figured I'd try to utilize the expertise of some of the knowledgable members that post here. I'm in the process of putting together my first system & was blown away by the clarity of the Source's (for the price) when I heard them.

I ended up picking up a pair of ML Source's for a great price last week. (They're in their boxes back home while I'm out of town for Christmas - can't wait to get to them) I also picked up a Denon AVR 3310 on clearance a few weeks back. I have a few things I wanted to ask regarding the general setup I'm aiming for.

First - impedance issues. I understand my receiver will only output at 6 ohms for the front speakers, and the ML's are 4 ohms. I've read several posts that recommend adding an external amp (which is my plan), however I've just exhausted my funds in picking up the equipment listed above. I'm wondering if it is possible that I run the ML's using just the 3310 for a few months until I can afford adding an external amp.. I don't want to end up damaging the receiver.