new to the group and ML

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
i baught new ML speakers last year for the first time. and here is how i set it up. i baught a onkyo7.1 receiver my front speakers are ML source's 2 my surround are ML encore's and so is my middle channel. awsome as it is, i would like to here more from my surround speakers,and i love power so here is what i thought i would do. i will take my source's make them the surround left and right,buy new vantage,s for the front and get a stage for the middle,then hook up the encore's to the rest of my speaker ports for the 7.1 i will also need to buy 1 more encore. tell me what you guys think!!!

That will make for a good combo. Don't forget you'll need to buy some amps, too.

thanks for the responce!! however im new to all this stuff kinda so would you please explaine in detail a little about the amps

ML speakers are quite a difficult load for a receiver to handle, let alone a receiver with 5 of them. The power supplies in the receivers just can't cover the voltage requirements. The speakers will sound a lot better if you use external amplifiers to run them as they'll be able to provide cleaner power and higher volume levels. Not to mention that you won't have to worry about burning up your receiver in 2 months. ;-) A common favorite around here are Sunfire 5 channel amplifiers for HT set ups.

Hi. Welcome to the group. Sounds like you're expanding fast wrt an all ML surround setup. There is no better path ;)