CLS strengths and weaknesses

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DonAudio

Reaction score
Hi Everyone:

I'm still a newbie on MLO. Thank you everyone for your kind advice so far. It's nice to share experiences with anything of an audiophile nature with people who have been in the know for a number of years.

I've had many speakers over the years and have been the happiest with planar or electrostatic variety. Started out with Maggies years ago. I recently bought a pair of CLS IIZ's and am very pleased with them. In fact I am in awe of them. Can't seem to get enough of them. I am currently listening to them with the following:

EAR 834P
EAR 834L
Well Tempered TT and tonearm
Koetsu Rosewood Signature
Wadia 301
EAR 509 MK II's

Never have I heard a speaker so completely disappear into a room. Soundstaging is incredibly deep. I'm still working on my left to right balance but it's coming along. Playing with the toe-in. I have at the advice of others purchased a pair of Arcici stands and will be refinishing them before I add them in.

As with every speaker I've ever heard, they do some things well and others; well, not so well. I would be very interested in hearing from fellow CLS owners their truthful critique (good and bad) on their CLS speakers.

Strengths......
Its a 25 year old design that blows most speakers away today. It was before its time as the amplification was scarce and expensive to run them in their hay day. With todays technology its easy for these to shine.

The ability to blend a sub easily as you have no woofer to panel area to mukkle things up.

High WAF as they are SEXY looking!

Martin Logan still makes panels for replacement

Weaknesss.......
I only have one pair !:ROFL:

GET THEM Arcci stands on and brace the rear well ! You will be amazed !