two possible dumb questions

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VinylSound

Reaction score
Q1: What is the effect of having 8 ohm amps driving 4 ohm ML speakers? Corollary, is there a benefit to having amps reconfigured for 4 ohms?

Q2: When bi-wiring the SL3s, I seem to not need the power cord whereas not bi-wired, power cord is essential. Why? Is there a benefit to using the power cord when bi-wiring?

Many thanks to everyone in ML land :)

Doug
White Stone, Va

Last edited:
VinylSound,
A really good answer to the first question would really be given by someone with an electrical engineering degree, or at least some good knowledge of electricity and how it works. I have limited knowledge on the subject, but according to what I understand, ohms is a measure of resistance. The lower the number, the less resistance I think. Also, if I understand correctly, the less resistance, the more power that can get through.

So for example, lets say an amp can put out 100 watts at 8 ohms. If you use a 4 ohm speaker, that is half the resistance, and thus technically double the watts, so 200 watts at 4 ohms. Not all amps are able to handle that higher load though, so you will want to research to see if it is ok for your specific amp to handle the load.

So I guess to answer your corollary question, an amp that is configured to be able to handle a 4 ohm load should be more stable at that load than perhaps an amp built to handle only 8 ohm loads.