Revisiting room treatments

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gordon Gray

Reaction score
HI all,

Hope everyone is having a great Memorial weekend.

For background purposes, I've been listening for the past several months with ATS Acoustic panels on my windows and on the side walls (floor location). Also have three GIK 244 bass panels on the floor in back of the speakers.

Although I really liked what I was hearing, I had a sense that the music was a bit over damped.

Decided to pull one GIK and a couple of the ATS panels, decreasing the overall panel area by some 30%.

Immediate impression was a more open, quicker, dynamic, engaging sound without any substantial negative impact on the overall musicality of the presentation.

Has anyone here "uninstalled" some panels with long term positive results?

GG

Yep! I found that absorption panels directly behind my Summits pretty much killed the "liveliness" or "presence." I ended up building "acoustic bookshelves" which provide a mix of diffusion and absorption. Depending upon one's room size, furnishings, and speaker placement, etc, when it comes to acoustic treatments, sometimes less is more. However, every room is different (as are the listener's preferences). At least it's fairly easy to "test" the effects of acoustic treatments, and decide what works best for you.

Yes, absolutely! Room treatments make such a huge difference, so the common audiophile mistake holds true - just because something sounds different, doesn't mean it sounds better!