please advice on upgrade!?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bsandovalb

Reaction score
Hi there!

I am new to martin logan... so far I am really enjoying the details they reproduce!

I have a nice basic system for 5.1 HT and music (I do not have lots of space at my house) room is 14x16x10 feet

I listen to music and HT (50/50), my gear consist on:

Speakers:
Fronts: Electromotion ESL
Center: Motion 8
Rears: Motion 4
Sub: scandyna Bass Station

Electronics:
TV: Samsung Led TV 55 inches full HD
Blu Ray payer: Oppo BDP93
Amp: Marantz SR8002

I have a great opportunity to add an Anthem A5 external amp (almost new at a very good price) to use with the SR8002 pre-outs.

My question is: assuming there is no need for any type of room treatment, does it make sense to take this opportunity or should I invest elsewhere?

My initial thinking was:
1. buy amp as it is nicely priced and is supposed to be a solid HT AMP (NOW)
2. eventually buy a dedicated Pre (when technology advances and makes my marantz obsolete / or fail (1-2 years)
3. upgrade Subwoofer (1-2 Years)
4. if my ears refine, upgrade center channel (only if find it necessary)

So....

Would it make sense?? thanks for taking your time to respond!!...I am new at all this hi-fi upgraditis :p

Welcome to hifi updrade-itis and welcome to MLO!

You'll find plenty of opinions here :)

The anthem amps get solid reviews. The A5 is also rated for 2 Ohm operation. IMO, if you feel the need for upgrading, I'd say that would be a nice way to start.

Cheers

This guy's in the best physical space to get upgrade advice - in the same country as Roberto (in whose ears we trust). Hola Roberto!

This guy's in the best physical space to get upgrade advice - in the same country as Roberto (in whose ears we trust). Hola Roberto!