Newbie (FNG)

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joef

Reaction score
HI everyone, my name is joef and I am a newbie. I recently purchased a pair of ESL-11As. Still trying to get a good center fill, but my room is tricky. I'll take all the help I can get. Many thanks.

Welcome Joef!

I've got the 13A's, and they appreciate front wall absorption. I had older smaller ML's prior to these and the difference I encountered is that the larger panels work better with added absorption further towards the center beyond where a mirror reflection would stop. So if the reflected image of the speaker stops at 4' from the center, I added about 1-1/2' more so it stops at 2-1/2' from the center. I also made the new absorption panels much taller, so mine now go floor to ceiling, not necessary but it looks better than stopping a couple feet from the ceiling.

The absorption also helps eliminate the back-wave refection which, for me, is noticeable in the high freq as harshness in cymbals, horns, and exaggerated sibilance.

I had a friend over while doing an amp comparison and he kept asking if my Center speaker was providing sound. It wasn't even connected.

Glad you found us Joef. The 11A's are nice speakers I'm sure you will greatly enjoy them

If you can tell us about your room, setup and electronics it would help all here with the issue you are working on.

Brad

Thanks for replying Brad. Equipment is VPI Sig. w/ Soundsmith The Voice, LKV 2-SB phono, ARC Ref3 and Ref75. I think the problem is that my room has a cavity that measures 42" x 33" to the right of the right speaker. Speakers are 57" from back wall, 90" from listening position and 42" apart. Should I cover up the cavity somehow to get more reflection? Thanks again. Joe F