New To ML, need advise please

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Victory-Rider

Reaction score
Hello,
I am new to the world of ML, so far love their products.
I know looking here at this BB is hindsight after buying my set up, but I did read a lot of reviews, that's why I went with the ML's.

I'm in no way at the caliber of the members here, and I'm also at the bottom end of the money scale as to investment. But I'm not that into listening to music, just want a kick-butt HT setup. So with that said, you can assume most of my listening is movies.

I did do a search, but as all set ups are unique, I figured I ask for advise.
I do know that maybe my A/V unit isn't top of the line, maybe not even mid-grade, and some might think why did you buy that, but for me it seems to work quite well. I'll take comments on this to, who knows, maybe next upgrade will be this item.

Here are the details of my media room and an equipment list:

Room 21 x 11 x 8, with the TV placed at the long end.
TV: Panasonic VIERA TC-P65VT25
A/V: Pioneer Elite VSX-30
ML:
Motion 10 Front
Motion 8 Center
Motion 4 Rear
Dynamo 500

So here are my questions...
1. I don't want/can't run my set-up in 7.1, but it is wired for 6.1, so with my current set-up should I use a Motion 6 or 8 for the rear center channel?
2. As stated I have Motion 10's up front, but have the chance to upgrade to Motion 12's at a huge savings. Thoughts on upgrading? Worth it? ( only gonna cost me about $250 more for 12's)
3. Any other comments?

Thanks, for your time and thoughts.

Welcome V-R, I have no knowledge of your speakers, but someone will chime in, I'm sure. We have a few bike riders here, too.