ML newbie kindly request assistance

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bernard991

Reaction score
regards to the ML Forum

I am new to stats ....but not to audio
having been in for many many years ...I have been intrigued by all I have read about ML's , unfortunately there are no ML dealers close to me so no chance was afforded to listen .

I have Primaluna tube mono blocks ( 70w/ch ) Odyssey tube preamp , Ack DAC , Music hall CD , Rega P25 , Decware WO32 sub and Harmonic Tech , Cardas & Slinkylink cables as well as high end power cables ....all gear has been modded .

so when the opportunity came up to buy a used pair of SL3's at a good price I jumped ...unfortunately they were damaged by UPS in transit and now I am waiting for the insurance claim to get settled . ( the frames on both tops are broken at the corners )
I decided to listen to them despite their condition , just to ascertain if they still worked .
First impression was really bright ...but in fairness I did not let them warm up much just plugged em in but as time passed there great resolution and wonderful midrange were fully enjoyed . I was a bit concerned that the amps may be limited but this is not the case

However what I find now ,2 days in ...after moving them around in my very limited listening space trying to find the 'right' spot is that for all program material that has high frenquency content the SL3's sound very bright

we tried draping the back of the panels w/ long towels and this helps somewhat but we lose that dipole magic .

I am sure that what will be suggested is that the room perhaps needs treatment but as we are selling the house so any kind of permanent work will not be an option ,
It would be good to hear what experience others have had w/ the SL3's and ML in general in regards to those piercing high notes ....