mc275 with mc2105?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beefchowmein

Reaction score
ok I'm still a newb to the MLClub. Ever since I got the aerius i, I been searching for that perfect sound (at least to my ear). That and being fickle.
I'm sure some of you probably read some of my progress. Anyways, here is a quick recap. Hoping to see if I can get more advice.

I started with the Jolida 302b. Sounds good, but didn't give me the sound that I was looking for. Sounds a little under power.
Picked up a Jeff Rowland Model 1 and borrow a rotel 1070 pre which gave me plenty of power to drive it but still didn't give me the balanced sound that I wanted. Some suggested that Rotel was the issue.
Picked up a Cary CAD-5500 pre and that fixed some of the issue. The sound was more balance but for some reason the soundstage seems to be lacking in something. The music wasn't as detail as I though. I almost want to say it sounded better with my Jolida powering my Blueroom Minipod. I just couldn't quite put my finger on it.
So, I went down to the local shop and brought home the mc275V to audition to see if it's really something wrong with my setup or if the sound I'm looking for is tube. At the same time I swap out the pre to amp DIY interconnect to the Kimber Hero.
During last night's listening, I finally heard the sound that I was looking for. The detail in the music, the balance of the sound stage. Dexter Gordon never sounded so good. You can almost feel the reed on his Sax vibrating.
I just wonder if I can get a little bit more bass out of the system.