What is the best (tube)amp for Summit?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aurjan

Reaction score
Hi

I am the happy owner of a pair of Summits, using at digital Tact/Lyndorf Millennium Mk3 amp to run them.

So far, I have been really happy with this combination, :bowdown:
But the "what if..." thoughts have started to come lately.

What if... the Tact isnt the perfect match...? What if... it is a good tube amp instead? I have heard people say electrostats and tubeamps is a good match. Is it?

Do any of you have the experience with the Millennium amp and tubeamps?

What is the perfect match for the Summits?

(I have no experience with tube amps)

Hi Aurjan,

This issue has been discussed numerous times on the forum for all ML speakers. Tubes, SS, how many watts, what class of amplification, ability to handle the ML impedance issue, amp current amount, listening levels, room size, type of music, tube rolling, etc.

You might want to research the multitude of past posts. There are many ideas / opinions that I'm sure you will find helpful.

Hint: There is no right answer (perfect match) because there are too many variables and the decision needs to be based on your personal listening biases and preferences.

GG

You will get a boat load of possibilities on this one for sure !

Truthfully there are many good choices, budgetary constraints ??

myself I have not heard the Millennium pieces but I do love......

BAT, Audio Research, CJ, Rogue Audio, Cary, all of which I've either owned or have spent considerable time listening through.

Tonepub recently comented as to how good the new PrimaLuna MonoBlocks sounded on his CLX's as well.

Great advice so far.