Used vantages from dealer, newbie help :)

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tven

Reaction score
Pardon me, but this is my first time buying any equipment of this caliber. I am here for some insight regarding buying floor models from Magnolia AV in LA.

My options

Buying brand new vantages + New Prima Luna Dialogue Power 4. This would end up around $9.3k (taxes incl).

Buying floor model vantages (couple of years old with full 5 year warranty) + New MC275 MKIVs. Cost is $9.3k (taxes incl).

Sonic differences between the two amps aside, is there an inherent risk in buying a used pair of Vantages that I am over looking? The kind that does not get covered by the warranty, and which might be hidden with even careful usage? Do Vantages or any ESLs for that fact see a decline in performance in any way over time, even with careful usage?

I am worried if buying them after they have been used for 2 years, would cut into the life of the speakers. Although I realise i am getting a terrific AMP with option 2.

Last edited:
I do not see any reason why you can not be happy with a used set. I would buy them take them home let them sit 12 hours vacuum the panels well and enjoy.

I just bought 18 year old ML's and they are great.

I would not be worried about getting used vantages - especially from a dealer with a full warranty.

Just make sure you fill out all the appropriate paperwork for the 5 year warranty.

Often manufacturers default to the manufacturing date in the case of ambiguity and you don't want that to happen :eek:.

Personally, I also bought a set of dealer "demo" vantages as well. I'm very happy with my purchase.

I prefer to buy demos assuming you get full warranty.

One, you know they work.

Two, you save money. Spend the savings on better electronics.

Three, no burn in issues. What you hear is what you get.

GG