Unhappy with new Logans

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Feltran

Reaction score
As some of you may recall, I've been planning on getting a whole Martin Logan home theater system, but in the meantime I decided to pick up a pair of Purity speakers for 2 channel listening, hoping I could save some space etc. Let me start with saying I don't have as discriminating of hearing as some of you, and I'm somewhat new to this, so I may not give the greatest descriptions of sound.

Unfortunately, I'm pretty unhappy with the sound they're generating. They are not currently paired with a subwoofer, and I imagine doing that could only help, but I'm not confident it would really fix the problem, so I'm not sure I want to invest any more money. Also, the speakers are currently hooked up using a line level connection, which I realize is not ideal. Now, on to the problem.

When the music is playing, and there are only higher treble sounds (when only the electrostatic panel is being used), it is loud, sharp, and sounds fantastic. However, when the cones kick in, the music gets softer and muddier. There is also a midrange sound that it seems like it can't replicate properly at all, and it gets very quiet on a particular range of notes. In short, it's almost like someone is playing with the volume knob when the pitch changes.

Is there a simple solution to this? Would adding a subwoofer really fix the problem? Are the speakers defective, perhaps? The Logans I heard in the store (Sources running off of a Yamaha receiver) sounded really good to me, but my Purities, while sometimes able to create great sounding notes, have me wondering if Martin Logan isn't going to work for me.

Thanks in advance for any help or input.