System #266 (Descent i)

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elliotma

Reaction score
Name- Mike
Location - Seattle

Assoc Equipment:

Descent i
McIntosh MX130, MAC3 Decoder, and MC205
Pioneer Elite DV05 DVD Player
HD Tivo
Pioneer Elite 42" Plasma
Athena S2/P2 front speakers with center channel and rears

Most of my Stereo/Theater experience has revolved around building a media cabinet and cabling my house. I am an avid woodworker and tig welder so working those interests in with a home theater has been very fun. Here are some pictures of my system. I built the cabinet out of walnut for the Mac components. After installing everything I discovered that the equipment was getting too warm. I found a fan system made by Middle Atlantic to keep the cabinet cool. I used floor registers in the bottom of the cabinet so the fan could draw cool air in from the bottom over the components and blow it out the top of the cabinet.

Future upgrades include replacing all my Athena speakers with Martin Logans. I would like to purchase a higher quality cd player. I'm looking for a quality one that will have Blu Ray, SACD, CD, and DVD capabilities. I also want to look into sound treatments for the room.

Attachments

• Front shot with components.jpg
    Front shot with components.jpg
    74.9 KB · Views: 617
Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome again Mike, sorry for the confussion in getting your system posted !

Nice woodworking talent on display !!!!

Another pic- Middle Atlantic fan. This is a great product. Flows 100cfm with 4 fans and their speed responds in proportion to how hot the cabinet is and shuts off automatically.

Attachments

• exterior view of fan 1 reduced.JPG
    exterior view of fan 1 reduced.JPG
    111 KB · Views: 620
Here is an inside shot.

Attachments

• inside view of fan reduced.JPG
    inside view of fan reduced.JPG