Partners for M-L Source

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikvilja

Reaction score
Greetings!

Here goes my first post:

I have been enjoying Sources now for almost two months, they sound just amazing! They were the first major upgrade in my system, so now I would like to hear some opinions where to continue next. I have now the following (please don't puke...):

-AudioQuest speaker cables (bought with speakers. Don't remember the model though. Blue, bi-wired inside, looks nice... ;-) )
-Technics SA-DX1050 (about 5 years old 5.1 amp, 100w per channel for 6 ohms.
-PS3

I know the player and amp are not on level with Sources but I have to start somewhere, right?

I don't have fortunes to spend on partnering, so I am looking something descent but but not really expensive.

I have been offered the following integrated 2-ch amps:
-Cyrus 8vs2
-Exposure 3010s

Any comments on those or proposal for something better? :D

Greetings!

Here goes my first post:

I don't have fortunes to spend on partnering, so I am looking something descent but but not really expensive.
Welcome to the board. You should state your budget if you want some recommendations.

First: Grotto subwoofer.
Next: Scoop up a nice 150 Wpc amp on the 'Gon. McCormack DNA-1 is sick-sounding and cheap (relatively).
Third: Don't worry about cables or other "fine tuning" items until you have settled on a solid foundation.

My thoughts only !!

Happy listening, and treat those Logans nice !!

~VDR

Last edited:
Fourth: Stay away from receivers and integrateds with Logans. Better to use the pre-outs on your receiver to a good, strong, meaty amp. Your ears can thank me later....:D

~VDR

Thanks for your replys!

I don't have really defined the budget but I think I am looking at something like 1500-2500 dollars for amplification. Is it enough for pre and power amp?