Old ML / SL3's - how will I know when the panels need to be replaced ?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

malcesine

Reaction score
Total newbie to ML speakers but loving the older pair of SL3's I picked up recently.:rocker:

I read a lot about ES panels and how they need replaced after a certain period of time or they deteriorate badly in performance.

Question is...how will I know ?

These are the only ML's I have ever heard so have no point of reference.

Will a bad or deteriorating panel be obvious ?
Do i get volume reduction ? Crackles and hisses ? Loss of sparkle in treble ? Something else ?

They sound superb to me so far and integrate really nicely with the bass woofer at full bass setting so no panel volume reduction is apparent to me.

Based on serial numbers these are of Nov 1998 vintage and have never had the panels replaced.

If I look really closely at the panels through the grille they have tiny, very feint black spots at each grille hole but otherwise totally transparent and clean looking.

thanks for you help !

Last edited:
You will know when it's time to replace them - they won't sound as they do now! I also have had the SL3 since about 5 years and absolutely love them. Mated with my Krell equipment they are just heavenly! Make sure your room treatment and placement is up to par as this will make a HUGE difference! I personally am a fan of the bigger panels and even though the newer models have better electronics / new crossovers etc, i think you cannot beat a bigger panel compared to a smaller one. The new ML speakers get smaller and smaller (except CLX!) due to WAF and pressures from interior designers which is not necessarily the best scenario for sound quality! If i ever upgrade my SL3 i will probably go to the Prodigy!
Enjoy your speakers - for that money there is not much competition!