New Sequel II owner - Issues?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yorktownman

Reaction score
New Sequel II owner - bought locally off craigslist ...
Sounded great during the audition ...

I now notice that one speaker has lower higher frequency output than the other.
I've proved to myself that it's not the amp or source.

I removed the power supply and the high voltage supply is turned off on this one.
Turned it back on ... no noticeable difference.

Actually I removed the AC power from both and notice no real difference in output?
I"m a newbie here ... am I missing something obvious?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Welcome aboard and congrats on the new Sequel ii's... Unplug them overnight. Then with a STRONG vacuum, vacuum the panels (front and back). Don't worry if you see the membrane getting sucked close to the stator... it won't harm the speakers. Pay close attention to the spars (the lines across the panels).

This will hopefully remove any dust and contaminants on the panels. Then see how they sound. If the problem persists, you can remove the panels and shower them.. yes, you heard me correctly..Take them into the shower!!! Don't laugh, it works!! Do a search on here to find exact instructions on how to do this correctly.

ML panels don't last forever, and Sequel ii's are old, so I'm not surprised that this is happening. Not sure if ML is still making new panels for these.. If they are, they will be $$ and IMHO, not worth it. The shower trick is your last option. Or just turn the low channel volume up a little higher and live with them that way.

Good luck!

Many Thanks for the quick response Tom ...
I will certainly try your suggestions.
I'm still a little confused why it makes no difference if power is connected to the speaker or not?