Need opinions on Source or Purity

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BaN

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a newbie here and never owned ML before. I'm thinking about "upgrading" from my Vienna Acoustics Webern on-walls to the new ML Source. Can I expect sound improvement with this setup? I'm using a Rotel 120w/channel 5-channel amp paired with Fosgate Audionics processor. Thanks much for your opinions.

Hi,

I'm a newbie here and never owned ML before. I'm thinking about "upgrading" from my Vienna Acoustics Webern on-walls to the new ML Source. Can I expect sound improvement with this setup? I'm using a Rotel 120w/channel 5-channel amp paired with Fosgate Audionics processor. Thanks much for your opinions.

Hi BaN,

Welcome to the CLUB.

I am in the same position as you as I have never owned ML either. As my funds don't run to a new pair of the larger M/L speakers I was thinking in terms of a second hand set of SL3's or similar, but today I found info on the Source and I am also wondering whether it would be better to get these new rather than an older pair of used M/Ls. It will be interesting to see what reponse you get from the experts.

I haven't heard the new Source or Purity (and they probably haven't even arrived in Australia yet)!

You'd have to listen and decide for yourself. As a general rule, an older pair would probably give you better overall sound quality, but the newer ones might have some aspects of the sound that you like. Only you can make that decision.

Also worth considering is the cost of panel replacement on an older pair if they will be requiring that.

I haven't heard the new Source or Purity (and they probably haven't even arrived in Australia yet)!