ML speakers are a line source

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kcl

MLO Supporter
Reaction score
Although I'm relatively new to this forum, I've 'lusted' after Martin Logan speakers since I first heard them in a high-end stereo shop in the early 1990s, and got my Ascents back in 2002. I've done a lot of reading and research within this forum, but something that I discovered early on about these speakers I've never seen in any messages. So I thought I'd pass this along for those that may not know it. (And if everyone already knows it, my apologies for wasting your time.)

One of the things that originally impressed me was how Martin Logan speakers seemed to 'fill' both large and small rooms with their marvelous sound, especially more so than traditional cone speakers (even high-end ones). Being an engineer by trade and training, I realized what I thought was the reason: Planer speakers are a line source of sound, whereas traditional cone speakers are a point source. "Well of course" you're probably saying, but I've discovered that most folks don't realize what this means from a sonic volume standpoint.

You see, the volume level of a point source is proportional to the inverse square of the distance. That is, if you double the distance from a cone speaker, the volume level is reduced to one quarter of what it was (i.e., one over two squared). However, the volume level of a line source is proportional to the linear inverse of the distance. In other words, doubling the distance only reduces the volume level to one half (i.e., one over two).

This is the reason that all that clear, crisp, and detailed sound our speakers generate is so effortlessly transmitted throughout our listening rooms.

Last edited: