Dynaco ST-120 & ST-70

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shub

Reaction score
Any feedback on these amp kits??

I'm new to both ML world and have ZERO experience with tube amps - so please don't flame me ;)

I am very good with soldering and electrical work so the "kit" aspect doesn't faze me -0- just seems to cheap to be true/good....

any advice would be great..........

Last edited by a moderator:
The Dyna St70 probably will not be able to drive an electrostatic. I just completed building the mod that you describe and I will say that it's one really good amp, but a low powered amp at that. I use that amp to drive a pair of new Strling Broadcast LS3/5a's that I really like. This is a second system that I use in a living room. The preamp is a "Grounded Grid" Trancesdence kit. Believe it or not, I find this system exremely listenable - not the total equivalent of my Summits driven by ARC compnents, but pretty damn good, nevertheless. To summarize, the ST70 is a really good amp, but I would not use it on my MLs.

Me too...

Now if you had a pair of original Quads you'd be pretty happy
with a ST-70.

Plus if you are new to this, the assembly of an ST70 might be
more than you want to mess with.

I have a Van Alstine Ultimate 70. Drives my mildly modded Claities just fine, with the exception of damping factor. Very nice mid range, fairly extended highs. Gets bloomy w slight boom w stock Clarity. I only play at moderate level at night..it's pretty much the min wattage tube amp. Have to look into the Dynaco ST-120 to see what they are all about.

Last edited: