Digital cable length/quality influence on sound

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheZephyr

Reaction score
I have heard a great deal of debate about whether or not digital cables influence the sound. I understand that a bad cable can cause complete failure, but as I am an actual computer engineer I have my doubts that a 'high end' digital cable can provide better sound than a standard fully functional cable.

I have a Weiss DAC 202. These DACs feature a bit perfect indicator as well as bitrate and depth display, so it is easy to determine whether or not the DAC is receiving perfect data, this makes it easy to determine whether or not your digital cable is fully functional.

I am happy to say that with this DAC (which can use it's internal clock for timing), that an el-cheapo 30 foot long cable works perfectly at every rate including 24/192. Be aware that the firewire spec requires that cables be a maximum of 15 feet long, so the cable I used is out of spec to begin with, but it still works perfectly.

In the past there have been cases of very expensive but poorly designed units that were very sensitive to cables! As Dick Pierce discovered over a decade ago.

No doubt cables do have much influence on some equipment. Even devices like USB printers can be rendered unusable by poor cable.

For the specific case of the Weiss DAC 202 (and very likey other asynch capable devices) which is immune to cable/source jitter over firewire, the logic and exerience leads me to understand that a high end cables give no benefit beyond that offered by a basic fully functional cable.