Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: 20 amp vs 15 amp power cord

  1. #1
    Super User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,943

    Default 20 amp vs 15 amp power cord

    Hey all.

    So without raising a ruckus. . I see a power cord I like on sale and it comes in 15 amp vs 20amp versions. I would have to check but I think the plugs are identical. So given this for a power amp - does it make any diff?? I have 20 amp line in the wall and 15 amp plugs.

    Thanks. Cord is shunyata venom HC.

  2. #2
    Super User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,943

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timm View Post
    Hey all.

    So without raising a ruckus. . I see a power cord I like on sale and it comes in 15 amp vs 20amp versions. I would have to check but I think the plugs are identical. So given this for a power amp - does it make any diff?? I have 20 amp line in the wall and 15 amp plugs.

    Thanks. Cord is shunyata venom HC.
    Well answered my own question. I guess the connectors are different. I expected that but all pics seemed to indicate otherwise.

  3. #3
    Super User Brad225's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Wesley Chapel, Fl
    Posts
    1,378

    Default

    You are correct Timm. Only the female end will be different.

  4. #4
    Forum Administrator twich54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    SE Pa
    Posts
    6,135

    Default

    Tim, as we talked prior I purchased the same Shunyata PC and performed my own DBT against one of Frank's (Signal Cable) PC's and could not hear a bloody difference. If I were to do it again would I have bought the Venom PC .........no, I'd a bought the Signal Cable one and save a hundred bucks !
    Dave

    System #79 - Analog is Alive and Well, if in doubt, click the link below !

    Click Here to see my System

  5. #5
    Super User Rich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Huntsville, Alabama
    Posts
    4,129

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by twich54 View Post
    .........no, I'd a bought the Signal Cable one and save a hundred bucks !
    Which is why my system is wired completely with Signal Cable power cables. I’ve never felt high end power cables made a noticeable difference. Once you have thick enough gauge wire, decent shielding, and quality connectors, anything additional is just (expensive) window dressing. Now the PS Audio P10 power regenerator ... that made a difference! Highly recommended component.
    Rich

    This comment is intended solely for educational purposes and should not be construed as conveying any express or implied warranty of fitness for any other purpose. Said comment constitutes merely the humble opinion of its maker and does not reflect the views of the MLOC or of ML, Ltd. YMMV. Trust your own ears.

  6. #6
    Member GW1800's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    160

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timm View Post
    Hey all.

    So without raising a ruckus. . I see a power cord I like on sale and it comes in 15 amp vs 20amp versions. I would have to check but I think the plugs are identical. So given this for a power amp - does it make any diff?? I have 20 amp line in the wall and 15 amp plugs.


    Thanks. Cord is shunyata venom HC.
    Go with the 15 amp that is more standard for components. Can’t think
    Of a good Reason to buy 20 amp unless a particular component requires it
    Music Rm #503: CLX Art DC / 2-212's / Bricasti M12/28's / Aurender N10 / Nordost: O2 Loom / V2 Pwr Spk & Subs, QX4, QV2, QK1, QB8, Sort Fut, Lift & TC Kones, QKore 6, Earth Grd, Acoustical Panels Media Rm #504: 13A's Balsalt Blk /Descent i's / Vanquish / Focus / Parasound 3-A23 & 31 / 65" LG 4k OLED / Anthem AVM60 / Nordost V2/T2/H2 Pwr & IC, H2 HDMI & Net, QK1, QV2, QB8 & QX2 / Entreq SM / SBooster / Sony 4K Blu-ray

  7. #7
    Super User roberto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    Posts
    2,910

    Default

    Hola. If you have the chance to listen to both, choose the one that you liked most. If you can not tell a difference, then you know the answer. Once, somebody told me: Roberto, if you like it in a red color, buy the red color. Itīs your money and your liking. I used to say: trust in your ears! And now the great Gurus say that your ears are not that precise. Use your long-term memory for this. You can get confused if you use your short-term memory. Short-term memory only last about 15 seconds in a good trained ears! I always let my ears to be the last and final judges.

    Happy listening!
    CLX, Stage X and Motion 4, BF-210 sub, Summits in second system. Conrad Johnson Classic One Twenty SE amp, ET-7 Conrad Johnson pre, Exasound E-32 DAC with Teddy Pardo linear power supply, Shun Mook products, Nordost and DHLabs cables. Anthem AVM-60 audio and video processor. Anthem MCA-325 center and surround power amp. BPT Signature 3.5 Plus Balanced Line Power Conditioner.

  8. #8
    Super User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,943

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by twich54 View Post
    Tim, as we talked prior I purchased the same Shunyata PC and performed my own DBT against one of Frank's (Signal Cable) PC's and could not hear a bloody difference. If I were to do it again would I have bought the Venom PC .........no, I'd a bought the Signal Cable one and save a hundred bucks !
    Yes - I do have a signal pc which is too short (duh) .. I ended up getting the 15amp - 6' version shunyata for about 70-80 bucks more than franks power cord. It was marked down with free shipping and no taxes. So I figured I'd give it a shot. For whatever reason the signal did seem to be a little loose on my amp. It may just be my amps socket is shallow. I will see if this cord is any different.

    Dave - did you ever go direct to amp with that cord or did you just connect it to your power conditioner/ regen?

    Rich - so you really like the P10? I hesitate with it because of cost and I don't live in a bad area for electrical.

  9. #9
    Super User Rich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Huntsville, Alabama
    Posts
    4,129

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timm View Post
    Rich - so you really like the P10? I hesitate with it because of cost and I don't live in a bad area for electrical.
    I do really like it a lot. I power all the main components of both my 2-channel system and my home theater system with it. I think it makes a big difference in the sound of the system, and it has completely saved my butt (and my tweeters) on at least one occasion. It paid for itself in that moment.

    As for price, check Underwood HiFi as they often have good deals. Like during the holidays. Hint. Hint.
    Rich

    This comment is intended solely for educational purposes and should not be construed as conveying any express or implied warranty of fitness for any other purpose. Said comment constitutes merely the humble opinion of its maker and does not reflect the views of the MLOC or of ML, Ltd. YMMV. Trust your own ears.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    249

    Default

    On 15 & 20 Amp plugs and receptacles:

    a] The receptacles in wall outlets are the 5-15R(15 Amp) and the 5-20R(20 Amp)units. (they have different pin arrangements)
    The 20 Amp receptacles are only permitted in 20 Amp circuits. If 15 Amp receptacles are used in a 20 Amp circuit, then 2 or more receptacles are required (but that's easy because they come in dual units)
    The definition for outlet is the box in the wall where you install a receptacle, but now a mfg and lots of people are calling a receptacle an outlet.
    The internal parts of a 15 & 20 Amp receptacle are the same it's just the cover plate that's different.

    b] There are 15 & 20 Amp IEC receptacles. (they have different pin arrangements)
    I believe that their actual ratings are 13 & 17 Amps.

    Note that the only things that limit current flow are circuit breakers and parts failures. It's common for old fashioned light bulbs and compressors to draw10 times their rated current at start-up.

  11. #11
    Forum Administrator twich54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    SE Pa
    Posts
    6,135

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timm View Post

    Dave - did you ever go direct to amp with that cord or did you just connect it to your power conditioner/ regen?
    no Tim, it's only used with my Denali 6000/s. My amps (mono blocks) have an 8 and 10 foot run and are on their own 20 amp circuit.
    Dave

    System #79 - Analog is Alive and Well, if in doubt, click the link below !

    Click Here to see my System

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •