Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Do you use room correction with your ESL's

  1. #1
    Member ML Goat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    93

    Default Do you use room correction with your ESL's

    Curious if you guys use Audyssey,YPAO,MCACC ect for listening to music. What are you experiences with it? I got another panel under warranty yesterday. Now they both register at +1.0 after running audyssey, where the other panel was coming in at +6. Sounds great now. I listen to music in 2 channel with a sub. I noticed that Audyssey XT32 tightens up the image, but almost sounds like it looses something. Even with xt32 off, the subs still sound like it blends well with the Em ESL's. Also sounds like the sound stage is more open without xt32.

  2. #2
    Newbie Andrew Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I have a pair of Electromotion ESL and I use Dirac room correction on a Windows 10 PC.
    The PC happens to be also the main source, since my music collection is in .flac format (plus a thousand of CDs on the shelves).
    I've been using room correction since 2004, when the only option was the TacT preamplifier; unfortunately that company is closed, some of the know-how being transferred to Lyngdorf.

  3. #3
    Super User RCHeliGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,042

    Default

    I played with it for a little while, but experimented with speaker placement and am very happy with the end result so I'm running music straight through with nothing but volume control and no other control over the signal.

    I spent just enough time in professional audio working on digital mastering consoles to understand the balance between IIR and FIR filtering and how IIR can be used at low frequencies and FIR can work at high frequencies without destroying the sound stage, but every time I play with any sort of equalization I always come back to none. For some reason no modification seems more consistent across a wide range of music. Once you start equalizing, in my experience you eventually end up wanting different adjustments for different music vs. just adjusting for the room. As always YMMV.
    Mark
    JRiver Media Server 21 on Windows 10 -> (Async USB) -> OPPO 105D -> Emotiva XPA-2 gen 2 -> Martin Logan Ethos -> my ears

  4. #4
    Super User RUR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    984

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Perry View Post
    I've been using room correction since 2004, when the only option was the TacT preamplifier; unfortunately that company is closed, some of the know-how being transferred to Lyngdorf.
    I loved my TacT 2.2XP right up until TacT's owner stole off into the night, leaving users with no ongoing product support. Forced me to move on to a newer, better product. Having used SoTA RC for years, now, I'd never again do without.

    Quote Originally Posted by RCHeliGuy View Post
    ....but every time I play with any sort of equalization I always come back to none. For some reason no modification seems more consistent across a wide range of music. Once you start equalizing, in my experience you eventually end up wanting different adjustments for different music vs. just adjusting for the room......
    In theory required due to the lack of mastering standards - see Toole's "Circle of Confusion". In practice, once I settled on a base target curve, there are very few recordings I really need to futz with to get proper spectral balance. As you say, YMMV.
    _____________________________________________
    MacMini+JRiver>Trinnov Altitude 32>W4S MMC7>active tri-amped Emerald Physics EP4.7, various subwoofers

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    33

    Default

    I've been playing around with a Lyndorf RP-1 for the last year or so with very satisfying results. Unfortunately this model is not available anymore but maybe you can fidn it second hand or so?
    Easy to setup and to use. I regards this as the biggest upgrade I've done in the recent years.

    Dirk

  6. #6
    Super User amey01's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,801

    Default

    Only for the bass (sub). So in a purist sense "with my MLs" the answer is no. But in my ML system? - Yes.
    Marantz 8300 SACD / Squeezebox Touch --> Audiolab M-DAC --> Copland CTA-305 --> Classé CA-101 --> MartinLogan Vista / Behringer DEQ2496 --> Whise Profunder sub

    Click here to see my system

  7. #7
    Super User RCHeliGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,042

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amey01 View Post
    Only for the bass (sub). So in a purist sense "with my MLs" the answer is no. But in my ML system? - Yes.
    I was watching a video that showed someone putting their sub woofer in their sweet spot and then walking around the room to listen to potential places to place a subwoofer while listening for where bass was full range and not one note.

    I have to wonder how well that works in practice. Anyone ever try that?
    Mark
    JRiver Media Server 21 on Windows 10 -> (Async USB) -> OPPO 105D -> Emotiva XPA-2 gen 2 -> Martin Logan Ethos -> my ears

  8. #8
    Super User Brad225's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Wesley Chapel, Fl
    Posts
    1,383

    Default

    As odd as it sounds Mark, it does work.
    I have used it a few times. As you said place the subs where you sit. Play music with some low end and do the "Sub Crawl". Literally crawl around on the floor and see where the base is the strongest. Then move the sub or subs to the best places.
    It may turn out that you can't place a sub there but it works.

  9. #9
    Super User amey01's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,801

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RCHeliGuy View Post
    I was watching a video that showed someone putting their sub woofer in their sweet spot and then walking around the room to listen to potential places to place a subwoofer while listening for where bass was full range and not one note.

    I have to wonder how well that works in practice. Anyone ever try that?
    It does work, and is based on solid theory.
    Marantz 8300 SACD / Squeezebox Touch --> Audiolab M-DAC --> Copland CTA-305 --> Classé CA-101 --> MartinLogan Vista / Behringer DEQ2496 --> Whise Profunder sub

    Click here to see my system

  10. #10
    Super User RCHeliGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,042

    Default

    Good to know. Of course I only have a subwoofer in my HT room and we lounge around on a wrap around couch down there.
    Mark
    JRiver Media Server 21 on Windows 10 -> (Async USB) -> OPPO 105D -> Emotiva XPA-2 gen 2 -> Martin Logan Ethos -> my ears

  11. #11
    Super User JonFo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Big Canoe, GA
    Posts
    3,573

    Default

    As I point out in the guide for setting up RC with ESLs, getting the mesurements just right is part of the secret to a good vs a bad RC experience.

    Keeping in mind these are large dipoles, making sure the rear-wave does not unduly influence the RC is the key to an effective vs destructive RC result.

    So regardless of Audyssey vs Dirac vs Trinnov, where you place the mic during sampling is critical.

    I do layered RC, with a few select low-freq adjustments for the subs in the speaker processor (a DBX DriveRack 4800), then apply Audyssey XT-Pro overall. I much prefer this to the unprocessed result, and the REW measurements confirm the significant reduction in room resonances and a smoother frequency response.

    I do wish I could step up to Trinnov in an Altitude32, but am waiting to see if they will support MQA.
    Jonathan

    System #45 (Monolith IIIx, Sequell IIb, SL3XC)

  12. #12
    Super User RUR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    984

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JonFo View Post
    I do wish I could step up to Trinnov in an Altitude32, but am waiting to see if they will support MQA.
    Jonathan, you have a PM.
    _____________________________________________
    MacMini+JRiver>Trinnov Altitude 32>W4S MMC7>active tri-amped Emerald Physics EP4.7, various subwoofers

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    55

    Default

    I was thinking of buying the Trinnov altitude. Anyone using one of those?

  14. #14
    Super User RUR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    984

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duke View Post
    I was thinking of buying the Trinnov altitude. Anyone using one of those?
    Yes, it's the ne plus ultra processor - if that's what you want/need.

    If you plan to set up >11 speakers e.g. 7.1.6 etc., it's the only game in town. Simple to active bi/triamp and IMHO, it's the best room correction, bar none.
    _____________________________________________
    MacMini+JRiver>Trinnov Altitude 32>W4S MMC7>active tri-amped Emerald Physics EP4.7, various subwoofers

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    364

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duke View Post
    I was thinking of buying the Trinnov altitude. Anyone using one of those?
    Yes I have the altitude32-16. I used the meridian 861 v8 but sold it about a month ago. I use it for multi channel. Changed from Meridian to achieve Dolby Atmos etc.
    GaryG

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •