Wich amp to choose?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
M

Mans

Hallo to all of you.I'm new to this fascinating forum.I was the owner for a couple of years of an 6years old pair of Sequel II's.I had the ML's on a set of Denon's POA-S10.Sound wasn't nice for all these time.
Last year i haered a demoset with a pair of a lot smaller Aeon's hooked up with an Mc-Intosh 2xmono set-up.What a difference!!!This set-up sounded much more smooth and what a soundstage!This is why i sold a couple of months later the Denon mono's with the AVC-A1d i just as pré and to power-up my ML Cinema.
Last month i traded my Sequel II's for a very young pair of Aeon's.I needed to replace the ESL panels and also the Aeon's have much more WAF.
At this time i need to invest in some power for the Aeon's and the Cinema...
For the moment i have three, i find all very nice posibilities:

1° Sunfire Theatre Grand / Cinema set 2x200W combi, ex-demo.
2° Lexicon RV-8, demo condition.
3° Rotel RSP-1098 / RMB-1075, second-hand = 2 years old.

OK, there's a big difference in price.
But i know i should invest at the moment in some proper power set-up for the ML's.
I play 90% of the time as stereo/2ch direct.I bought the Cinema in a very nice deal, so it's kind of extra to me.Will update lateron with scripts or ... for ch 4-5.
Interlinks and speakerruns are AudioQuest's, should be ok in every set-up ;-)

So plaese shoot me any advice wich you have for me.
Thanks for your feedback.

Best regards, Mans, Belgium.

I'm really surprised that the Denon POA-S10s did not sound nice with your Sequel IIs. They are (were) definitely the best monoblocks Denon ever made.. very rare and quite powerful.

...Or did I misunderstand your post?

Tom.

Hey Tom,

No you did understand me perfectly.