Quantcast

System #55 (Expression 13A's)

MartinLogan Owners (MLO)

Help Support MartinLogan Owners (MLO):

sleepysurf

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
2,548
Reaction score
29
Location
Tampa, FL
Updated main system pics at top.

I've recently integrated my old NHT Sub Two into my stereo setup (formerly used only for Home Theater), placing it along a mid side wall to test my hypothesis that it would smooth the ~60 Hz null in my bass response. The subsequent XTZ Room Analyzer measurement (below), confirms it will (even without "dialing in"). I now have a BalancedForce 210 sub on order. I expect the PBK, along with the custom Summit filter, will further smooth my low/mid bass. Will post additional measurements and pics once the upgrade is complete.
 

Attachments

sleepysurf

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
2,548
Reaction score
29
Location
Tampa, FL
What happened to that much-promised "further review"?:confused:
Oops, guess I forgot about it! I still have the CT-5, if that's any indication!

I will post a full system update once I get my BalancedForce 210, complete with XTZ Room Analyzer plots, and the requisite audiophile prose. :D
 

sleepysurf

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
2,548
Reaction score
29
Location
Tampa, FL
Added 2nd BF 210 sub to my setup, running both as Dual Mono subs (2nd daisy-chained to first), and relocated both behind the listening position/couch. After new sub breaks in, will run PBK and XTZ, and post latest findings. Already sounding much better than prior single BF210 along mid side wall!

DualMonoSubs.jpg
 
Last edited:

sleepysurf

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
2,548
Reaction score
29
Location
Tampa, FL
Here's the initial XTZ Full Range measurement for my ML Expressions (after ARC applied). As before (with my Summits) I have a room bass null at ~50 Hz, which I hope to fill in with my dual BF210's, without "muddying up" the otherwise pristine tight bass I'm getting with the Expressions alone.

ML_Expressions_XTZ_FullRange (+ARC, -Subs).jpg
 

JonFo

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
4,192
Reaction score
91
Location
Big Canoe, GA
Hi Alan, that looks pretty good for just the mains alone. I think you are right that the 2 BF210's will help fill in that null and provide much better overall low-bass.

Will you run full-time bass management and only feed the Expressions >80Hz?

Will you PBK each sub independently?

Cheers,
 

sleepysurf

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
2,548
Reaction score
29
Location
Tampa, FL
Hi Alan, that looks pretty good for just the mains alone. I think you are right that the 2 BF210's will help fill in that null and provide much better overall low-bass.

Will you run full-time bass management and only feed the Expressions >80Hz?

Will you PBK each sub independently?

Cheers,
I previously tried the BF210's as dual mono, using the (downloaded) crossover filter for the Expressions woofers set at -10 db. That filled in the room null, but the bass was somewhat "muddier." Next up, I'll run the Expressions full range with the respective BF210 crossover filters, and compare single vs. dual mono vs. stereo sub configuration (each sub PBK'd individually). I suspect a single sub is really all I'll need. Time will tell! Lots of "permutations" to try!
 

sleepysurf

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
2,548
Reaction score
29
Location
Tampa, FL
Voila! Running the subs as a stereo pair worked wonders! Required a bit of manual adjustments (beyond just using PBK and downloaded filters) for overall smoothest bass response, but the result is spectacular!

ML_Expressions_XTZ_FullRange (+ARC, +StereoSubs).jpg

In retrospect, I realize it was futile to run the subs as dual mono, when the Expressions are running full-range stereo. That's why I kept getting somewhat muddy bass (even with my Summits)! I'm still going to separately "tweak" each subs volume (phase too, if indicated) but I'm already 99% of where I want to be!

If anybody else is trying to use 2 or more subs with ML's running full-range, I strongly suggest configuring them for stereo (vs. dual mono).
 

music again

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 31, 2007
Messages
209
Reaction score
0
Location
Mid West USA
I had signed up at Oppo to get one from their final production runs. Not sure if they're still taking orders.
Thanks. I must have missed the email from them because I was on their emailing list. I do have their 105 but should have traded up to the 205 when it came out as I did with all of their other previous models.

Your system is one of my favorites. Great job of putting your system together!
 

sleepysurf

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
2,548
Reaction score
29
Location
Tampa, FL
Replaced my old StudioTech rack with a Salamander Archetype rack in black (with optional casters), as needed infinitely adjustable shelves to accommodate my new Oppo 205. Took a while to adjust the shelf spacing and get them leveled, but very happy with it. It's surprisingly sturdy, and rotates easily on the casters to allow back panel and cable access. I'll update my overall system pic soon, but here's a peek at the new rack.

NewRack.jpg
 
Last edited:

sleepysurf

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
2,548
Reaction score
29
Location
Tampa, FL
The new forum software no longer allows edits of old posts, so here's the latest pic of my Family Room system (after some new furniture and paint color). Next upgrade might be the new Anthem MRX 740 receiver, which would allow me to apply ARC Genesis to entire system (including dual subs) as a whole.

ML System (Medium).jpg
 

Robert D

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 21, 2020
Messages
564
Reaction score
96
The new forum software no longer allows edits of old posts, so here's the latest pic of my Family Room system (after some new furniture and paint color). Next upgrade might be the new Anthem MRX 740 receiver, which would allow me to apply ARC Genesis to entire system (including dual subs) as a whole.

View attachment 21061
How do you run the inputs to the subwoofers all the way back there over the hardwood? How do you conceal them? Did you drill some holes and run them under the floor?
 

sleepysurf

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
2,548
Reaction score
29
Location
Tampa, FL
How do you run the inputs to the subwoofers all the way back there over the hardwood? How do you conceal them? Did you drill some holes and run them under the floor?
We have a large 8' x 10' rug in the room, and I run the cables under the rug (taped to the edge of the rug pad). There is a slight bulge, but barely visible, and not enough to trip on. There's a short run of visible cable from my equipment rack to the edge of the rug, but it's right next to the speaker, so not a problem.

Here's an older pic (when I was using line level sub cables). Currently using high level inputs from amp, which are slightly thicker (Blue Jeans) cables, but still OK from WAF standpoint.

CablesUnderRug (Small).jpeg
 
Last edited:
Top