SL3s with Tube Power - YES, DO IT NOW

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tooslowmonroe

Reaction score
Full Disclosure: I have only been listening for about two hours...I am far from a professional listener and do not possess poetic attributes...

For years, I have been contemplating tube power for my SL3s. I am not an Engineer by any trade, and I have not been blessed with the gift of flowerly writing...alas...I am an average Joe. I work long hours, get home from work and spend time with the wife and grandchild until he finally goes home. After dinner and time with the wife...there is very little time left for me.

When I do get time, I cherish my time in "my room"...my budget friendly room...

I will get well into depth later as I update the thread. I know, if I were reading I would have all types of questions.

I wanted to get one thing done and off my chest: PUTTING A TUBE AMP ON MY SL3s WAS THE BEST THING I EVER DID for my room.

Scouring the web for years, I was convinced that only a five-figure tube amp would be a worthy candidate to drive my ML speakers.

I have loved the ML sound for years...having had the wonderful experience of being a salesman in a high-end shop and basically getting to hear about any combination of high-dollar stuff I wanted to hear. The owners were fabulous people that would have the highest of high-end rooms open for anyone to listen to. I got to hear many a "speaker of the year", multiples of "class A" speakers...you get the drift.

For all that, which I just loved...when it came down to spending what little money I had...it was a set of ML Aerius I's that I took home.

They are still part of my life living as my surround speakers in my room.

I was fortunate enough to be able to get some SL3's and my room is just right sized for them.