Requests and biamping

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smolder

Reaction score
somewhat of a noob here… and this has been generally covered, but I have a couple of questions specific to my gear.

I’ve been driving my requests with a Mcintosh mc2100. It’s on the bench getting some fresh electrolytics so I slot an utilized Adcom GFA 585 over. It doesn't sound as good as the Mc. It occurred to me that with minimal effort I could passively biamp this rig… using the Adcom for bass and the Mc for mid/treble. There is a wattage discrepancy though. The Adcom at 200 wpc, and the Mc at 100 (scopes at 130-150) may be a mismatch.

Will this end up boomy with bass (no volume control on the Adcom). I have plans for either another 2200 or a 275 tube amp to use on the high end. Is there a recommended wattage ratio? Other thoughts?

thanks in advance

Bimaping is generally a plus on the older line, like the reQuests, so you are on the right track.

The biggest challenge is generally gain-matching the amps. The best is identical amps, or the L & R channels of the same amp driving the HF and LF sections. Guaranteed gain match there.

Gain is how much amplification will be applied to a given input voltage, typically around 27 to 30dB for home amps.
So if the Adcom has 27dB gain and driving the woofers, and the McIntosh has 29dB gain, and is powering the panels, the tilt to the HF will be noticeable (not huge, but noticeable).

Now, you are in luck, as the Mac has gain controls that should allow you to gain-match what the Adcom and the woofers are doing.

The Adcom is indeed best for the woofers, as it has a decent rating for damping factor of 600. The Mac is a lousy 14 for that spec, reason enough to not ever use it full-range or for woofer duties.