Newbie here, Saying "hi" and asking nub questions.

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

togo

Reaction score
Hello all. I'm entirely new to the "high-end" speaker/audio scene but have loved MLs since the first time i heard them. I want to do a system for my self here soon but i don't want to get speakers that i'm not really getting everything out of because of my gear. It would be about 90% HT use 10% music. I was thinking of doing Vistas for mains, Stage or Motif for center, Frescoi for surrounds and a Depth i for sub.

My biggest concern was what would i need to power that kind of setup. I know most here don't use AVRs from what i've been reading. It seems just about everyone uses seperates. I was tossing around the idea of getting a Pioneer Elite 94txh or Denon 4308CI to start, and then picking up a power amp to power the front 3. 3 monos or maybe even just get a 5 channel amp. I want something tho that can decode TrueHD and DTS MA thats why i was thinking the AVR as a pre/pro.

I guess what i wanted to know was would that be a reasonable place to start, or just outright pretty good. What kind of power would i need for the vistas/stage. 200+ watts? Also how much does bi-wiring / bi-amping help, and how exactly is it done? What kinda of speaker wire would be a good recommendation for starts?

Thanks ahead of time. I tried searching out most of these answers the past couple weeks but any extra clarity from everyone would be much appreciated.

togo, welcome !

The fact that you plan on your system being utilized 95% in HT tells me that a good quality AVR would do you fine for now, and down the road should music become a more important factor then $$ allocation can be best spent there.