New member from South Bend Indiana

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TitaniumTroy

Reaction score
Greetings all,

newbie here from South Bend IN, any other members from around here in the Michiana area? It seem like this forum has many members from the Chicago area, which is about 90 miles west of me. So if you have any get togethers in the Windy City area please let me know.

Also I should explain that I have an all Magnepan system except the subwoofer BIC America V1215, MGIIIA's for mains, MMGC for center channel, 10.1 for surrounds. My computer speakers are also planer, Monsoon MM200.

While I usaully hang around over at the Sound and Vision forum, there are not too many Planer type speaker owners over their. There is also the Magnepan User's Group, but their software is old and creaky and not to user friendly, so here I am.

I was first bitten by the Planer bug when I heard a pair of 7ft Acoustat's back in 85. Since then I have been in awe of all speakers planer:bowdown:

I have to admit I have not heard any Martin Logan speakers to date, I have heard some Carver ALIII's, Apogee's. Would also love to hear some Quad's someday when I get the chance.

Around 2003 I bought the Moonson planer computer speakers off of ebay, this rekindled my intrest in these type of speakers. First I bought a NAD T753 reciever for its ability to handle 4 Ohm loads.

Then I found a pair of the MGIIIA's on ebay for $400.00 in Detroit, some Russian guy who sold used goods bought them at an estate sale for $100. They work great, I think the True Ribbon tweeter really helps, better for off axis listening and do not have the siblance I hear once in awhile in my 10.1 surrounds.