Network Streamer?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rpokuls

MLO Supporter
Reaction score
My audio salesperson is urging me to buy a network streamer, in particular the Aurender N150. He's asking
$3500 for it.

Right now, I have a subscription to Tidal and connect my laptop via USB to my integrated amp. The amp has a pretty
good DAC and does the full MQA "unfolding" thing.

The only problem is that I have to get up and go to the laptop if I want to do anything, i.e. no remote.

$3500 seems pretty steep to me for something which the laptop is doing for free.

Am I missing something? Any advice appreciated.

Thx.

Yeah, I never understood these crazy expensive streamers. Before I got my anthem AVM-70, I was using my Oppo 105D to stream and it worked great. All my music on a NAS, using an external DAC and I could control it all from my iphone. Now with the AVM-70, it does ALL of it, including DSD files, which I don't really listen to using this method.... the computer and headphones is better for this.

I got the Lumin D2, and its sounds much better than what either the Sonos or my Marantz receiver was able to do. It's a bit less expensive, at around $2300. I'm glad I bought it. I also got an external power supply for it.
https://upscaleaudio.com/products/lumin-d2-network-music-player
Maybe the shop will let you bring a sample player home and test it. Compare how it sounds to what you have now.

Does the setup you have now have the ability to play the MQA files that Tidal has so many of? My pc has a decent Sound Blaster sound card and it can't do MQA.

My audio salesperson is urging me to buy a network streamer, in particular the Aurender N150. He's asking
$3500 for it.

A salesman is "urging you to buy" something. Geez, that'd be a first!