Hello from Wausau, WI

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tristan

Reaction score
Good Evening. My name is Tristan. I live in Wausau, WI with my wife Danielle and our dog Mauser. I've been serious about music my whole life. I started playing piano when I was 10 and guitar when I was 16 and play in two rock bands. I've always had my finger in high-end audio equipment, but never was able to dive "head first." I love classical, rock, metal, some jazz, bluegrass, electronica; basically anything but new country and hip-hop rap. I listen to mostly indie rock, metal and classical.

I'm the kind of guy that likes to buy one piece of quality gear at a time. I can already see where this hobby can swallow you whole. I started out fairly naive and purchased a Bose system when I was first getting into audio gear. I quickly realized this was not the best purchase. i still have the system, installed in our living room. The low footprint is unobtrusive. No highs, no lows, you get the picture! :D

In my theatre/listening/mancave/cigar room; until last week I was running a pair of Marantz from the 70s that my father gave to me in my teens. They actually sounded very nice and warm. I had recently upgraded my surrounds and it became clear I needed to upgrade the fronts. I like a more natural, warmer sound personally. Some guys really like the super analytical sound. I can appreciate that sound but it isn't my preference. I've heard quite a few high end speakers over the years and I can truly say I've wanted a pair of Martin Logans for my entire adult life.