Get out and listen to a live performance!

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mosttoysrk

Reaction score
I make my living behind a camera and last week I photographed the Seattle Symphony orchestra. Every year they pose for a photograph and then I get to photograph the orchestra while they are playing. I get full access and get to roam anywhere onstage, just have to watch carefully for the string instrument bows as I move between the rows.
I was early and received a private 30 minute concert as they were going through rehearsal. Since there was no one in the concert hall I had free access to change seats and move anywhere I wanted, what a treat!
What an eye opener or ear opener would be more correct in hearing a large orchestra performing. Every instrument could easily be picked out without any effort. The bass from a plucked cello to a single oboe floating above the string sections, yes the strings if you have never heard violins in a properly designed concert hall you don't know what you are missing!!
I became totally involved in the music, (mesmerized might be a better word) you become part of the music. Listening to reproduced music I normally would pick apart the sound listening for compression, distortion, depth, seat row, or the so many check lists of items we seem to all go through when judging a system.
It should eventually be about the music right? I know I get so involved with the gear and nuances I sometimes forget to appreciate the actual music! so... just a reminder don't lock yourself into your man cave, get out and listen to a live performance, and in the end it will help you judge what you should be trying to achieve in your audio system!